Hilton Head Island Town Council Action and Disclosure Review, 2023-2026
Documents selected Town Council actions, voting results, financial or property scope, and identified disclosure or recusal information from 2023 through July 2026.
Other Information
The title, Vision, Mission, Values, Goals, and Objectives in this StratML rendition are inferred organizational constructs because the source material is a historical review rather than a formally structured strategic or performance report. They are intended solely to organize the source information without changing its substantive meaning. No Target Results are inferred where the source reports only historical Actual Results. Where the source does not provide or establish a fact, that limitation is preserved rather than silently resolved.
Submitter's Note: This StratML rendition has been compiled by ChatGPT based upon the data in a PDF of a spreadsheet shared in an E-mail message from Dave Ferguson, who is a candidate for election as mayor.
🏢Town of Hilton Head Island
Local government whose Town Council actions are documented in the source review.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council: Governing body whose actions, votes, and related decisions are documented in the review.
Decision Maker: Acts on ordinances, resolutions, contracts, property transactions, funding matters, and related public policy decisions. (Performer)
👤Alan Perry: Mayor and Council member whose participation, voting position, and disclosure or recusal status are specifically identified in the source where available.
Council Participant: Participates in Council decisions documented in the review. (Performer)
👥Hilton Head Island Residents and Property Owners: Members of the public whose interests may be affected by the Council actions documented in the review.
Public Stakeholders: May benefit from transparent and accountable documentation of governmental decisions. (Beneficiary)
Transparent and accountable local governmental decision making
Mission
To document material Town Council actions, voting results, financial and property scope, and disclosure or recusal information in a structured and reviewable form.
Values
Transparency: Make material governmental decisions and related participation readily reviewable.
Accuracy: Preserve reported vote counts, amounts, qualifications, discrepancies, and evidentiary limitations without silently reconciling them.
Accountability: Associate governmental actions with documented participation, voting outcomes, and disclosure or recusal information where available.
Traceability: Preserve sufficient contextual detail to relate structured results to the underlying governmental actions and records.
Document material Town Council decisions and the available evidence concerning participation, voting outcomes, scope, and disclosure or recusal.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
👥Public
Information User (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Accountable Council Decisions ~ This Goal is inferred to organize the historical actions contained in the source. The underlying source does not state it as a Council goal.
Document significant Council-authorized acquisitions, conveyances, exchanges, easements, and other real-property transactions.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
👥Hilton Head Island Residents and Property Owners
Public Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Major Land Transactions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries classified as major land transactions. It does not imply that the transactions themselves were undertaken pursuant to a formally stated objective bearing this name.
Post-executive-session resolution authorizing a contract to purchase approximately 12.019 acres on Jonesville Road.
Other Information
The source records the action as YES and states that the purchase followed executive-session discussion of property acquisition. The property was later listed in the Town's 2023 Annual Report land acquisitions.
No disclosure or recusal was identified in the reviewed official record.
Other Information
This result states only what the reviewed record disclosed; it should not be interpreted as proof that no potentially relevant circumstance existed outside the reviewed record.
Amendment of the Beaufort County property-exchange agreement involving Barker Field, Old Schoolhouse property, Cross Island Boat Landing, and the Jenkins Road parcel.
Other Information
The source records a 6-0 vote. Ames was absent. The amendment removed reference to a non-existent separate Parcel F.
Post-executive-session authorization to execute a purchase-sale agreement with United General Holdings LLC for Matthews Drive property.
Other Information
The source records a 6-0 vote and identifies the property as approximately 0.52 acre on Matthews Drive. The property was later listed as a Town green-space acquisition in the 2023 Annual Report.
Post-executive-session purchase agreement with Coligny Plaza Limited Partnership for Pope Avenue property.
Other Information
The source records a 5-1 vote for the 1.80-acre Pope Avenue property, identified as the former Wild Wing property. Becker opposed; Alfred was absent. Approved minutes appear in the September 19 packet.
Total acreage reported for the Town's 2024 acquisition program.
Other Information
The source identifies six acquisition categories: Wild Horse Road; office property; 69 Pope Avenue; Mitchelville-area acreage; land adjacent to Historic Mitchelville Freedom Park; and a Marshland Road parcel. December 31 is used as the EndDate because the source identifies these as 2024 results without supplying individual transaction dates in this entry.
Approximate total investment reported for the Town's 2024 acquisition program.
Other Information
The source reports the amount as approximately $18.81 million. The numeric equivalent is supplied in NumberOfUnits to support machine processing while the source's approximate figure is preserved in this explanation.
Post-executive-session authorization for purchase of approximately 9.5 acres on Marshland Road for conservation.
Other Information
The source states that Council approved the acquisition but that the exact numeric tally was not transcribed in the searchable primary text. A 50/50 green-space partnership is described in the source.
Amendment of the Circle Center property agreement and related easement and use provisions.
Other Information
The source states that Council approved the Circle Center property action after executive-session legal advice concerning the property agreement. The contingency was extended to August 31, 2026, together with related easement provisions.
Document material Council actions affecting land management, zoning, development regulations, and permitted uses.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
👥Hilton Head Island Residents and Property Owners
Affected Community (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Land Management and Zoning Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving the Land Management Ordinance, zoning, development regulations, and related land-use decisions. It does not imply that the source identifies a formally stated objective bearing this name.
First reading of Ordinance 2023-06, a package of Land Management Ordinance amendments.
Other Information
The source characterizes these as broad growth-management amendments affecting the Townwide LMO. The first reading passed 7-0; final reading occurred February 21, 2023.
Office Way / Islander Mixed Use text amendment enabling mixed-use workforce and student housing near Sea Pines Circle.
Other Information
The source characterizes the action as an LMO, zoning, development, and SERG-related matter involving a private project in the Office Way / Sea Pines Circle area. SERG Restaurants and other major employers supported the project.
Approximate number of workforce housing units planned in connection with Northpoint.
Other Information
The source reports approximately 157 planned workforce units. This is a project quantity associated with the approved regulatory action, not a claim that 157 units had been constructed as of the measurement date.
First reading of a Land Management Ordinance amendment addressing Townwide construction-management standards.
Other Information
The source characterizes the action as a substantive LMO development regulation and states that Council approved first reading. An exact numeric vote tally is not supplied in the source entry.
Resolution establishing a 21-member Land Management Ordinance Task Force.
Other Information
The source identifies representation including REALTORS, Home Builders, the Chamber, PUD managers, Gullah Geechee CDC, and Land & Cultural Preservation leadership.
Second and final reading of the related PD-2 Master Plan and zoning amendment.
Other Information
The source reports unanimous approval in the prior reviewed record and identifies the action with Bethea Drive and PD-2. This entry is preserved from the prior Novant audit.
Document Council actions affecting workforce-housing property, policy, advisory structures, funding, and public-private development initiatives.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
👥Workforce Housing Residents
Housing Beneficiaries (Beneficiary)
👥Employers
Workforce Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Workforce Housing Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving workforce housing. Some actions also fall within other source categories, including major land transactions, development, zoning, and real estate. Their inclusion here emphasizes their stated workforce-housing purpose rather than implying mutually exclusive classification.
Authorization of a contract to purchase 30 Bryant Road for workforce housing.
Other Information
The source reports unanimous Council authorization and states that the acquisition was subsequently confirmed by the Town Annual Report. The Town subsequently closed on the site and identifies it as a 2023 workforce-housing acquisition.
Return of the Coastal Community Development Corporation workforce-housing funding request to the Finance Committee for legal and funding review.
Other Information
Council sought a legal opinion concerning Act 57/ATAX, alternative funding, and terms. The funding amount is identified in the underlying packet but is not supplied in the source entry.
Authorization for the Town Manager to execute the Northpoint Workforce Housing Development Agreement with OneStreet Residential LLC.
Other Information
Town planning documents expressly state that Council approved the Development Agreement on June 18, 2024. The exact vote tally is not stated in the surfaced primary text.
Approval of workforce-housing memoranda of understanding and funding involving Habitat for Humanity and Coastal Community Development Corporation.
Other Information
The source reports Council-approved MOUs and funding outside the Novant-related actions and states that the Town Annual Report confirms them. December 31 is used as the EndDate because the source identifies the year but not a specific action date.
Perry participated affirmatively in the Council-approved workforce-housing MOUs and funding actions reviewed.
Other Information
The source characterizes Perry's participation as YES on the Council-approved MOUs. It does not provide a discrete roll-call tally for each action in this summarized entry.
Amount transferred under the Habitat for Humanity workforce-housing agreement.
Other Information
The source reports that the $500,000 authorized for Habitat was transferred. This indicator records implementation of the previously authorized funding rather than an additional $500,000 appropriation.
Dissolution of the Northpoint P3 Housing Advisory Committee and creation of a P3 Housing Advisory Committee focused on Bryant Road.
Other Information
The source states that Council approved the action but does not transcribe an exact vote tally. The action shifts the P3 advisory structure from Northpoint to the Town-owned Bryant Road workforce-housing property.
Document Council actions involving destination marketing, State Accommodations Tax funding, and the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
🏢Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce
Destination Marketing Organization (Performer)
👥Hilton Head Island Residents and Property Owners
Public Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Chamber and Destination Marketing Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving the Chamber of Commerce, the Town's designated destination marketing organization, destination-marketing plans and budgets, and State Accommodations Tax funding. It does not imply that the source states a formally adopted objective bearing this name.
Approval of a supplemental State Accommodations Tax grant to the designated destination marketing organization, the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce.
Other Information
The official roll call reported in the source records 5 YES votes, 1 NO vote, and 1 abstention. Perry cast the sole NO vote and Ames abstained. Summary prose in the reviewed source describes the result as 6-1-1, which is inconsistent with the seven-member roll-call total. This report preserves rather than resolves that source inconsistency.
Affirmative votes recorded in the official roll call on the supplemental State Accommodations Tax grant.
Other Information
The source's official roll-call figures are used for this quantitative result. Separate summary prose reports the result as 6-1-1; that discrepancy is documented in Performance Indicator 1.4.1.
Approximate anticipated State Accommodations Tax allocation associated with the approved DMO marketing plan and budget.
Other Information
The source reports an anticipated 30 percent State ATAX allocation of approximately $4.1 million. The numeric value records the approximate amount stated in the source.
Approximate total budget identified for the FY2024-25 destination marketing organization plan.
Other Information
The source reports the total DMO plan at approximately $8.8 million. The figure describes the approved plan budget rather than an independently verified amount actually expended.
Award of a three-year destination marketing organization contract, with a two-year option, to the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce.
Other Information
The source reports that the contract continued the Chamber's role as the Town's designated destination marketing organization and included additional transparency provisions. Funding is associated with the statutory 30 percent State Accommodations Tax allocation. The official source was not indexed in the review, while the unanimous result was contemporaneously corroborated.
Seven affirmative votes were reported for award of the destination marketing organization contract.
Other Information
The source reports a 7-0 result and notes that the unanimous vote was contemporaneously corroborated although the official source was not indexed in the review.
Document Council actions affecting independent review, analysis, policy direction, and project scope for the US 278 Gateway Corridor.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
🏢Beaufort County
Intergovernmental Partner (Performer)
👥Hilton Head Island Residents and Property Owners
Affected Community (Beneficiary)
Other Information
US 278 Gateway Corridor Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving the US 278 Gateway Corridor. It does not imply that the source states a formally adopted objective bearing this name.
Resolution establishing an independent-review advisory committee for the US 278 Gateway Corridor project.
Other Information
The source states that Perry supported the amended resolution. The action established an advisory structure for independent review of the Gateway Corridor project.
Approval of Town policy direction and a joint resolution with Beaufort County concerning the US 278 Gateway Corridor project.
Other Information
The source reports Council approval but does not surface an exact roll-call tally. The Town Annual Report documents the Gateway Corridor policy activity. December 31 is used as the EndDate because the source identifies 2024 but not a specific action date in this summarized entry.
Approval of a joint resolution establishing a funding-constrained scope for the US 278 Gateway Corridor project.
Other Information
The source states that Town Council approved the joint resolution on March 4, 2025. Beaufort County took companion action on March 10, 2025. The exact Town Council vote tally is not stated in the source entry.
Document Council actions supporting Gullah Geechee communities, historic neighborhoods, cultural preservation, land preservation, and related community development.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
👥Gullah Geechee Community Members
Community Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
👥Historic Neighborhood Residents
Community Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Gullah Geechee and Historic Neighborhood Preservation Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving Gullah Geechee communities, historic neighborhoods, community development, land preservation, and cultural preservation. It does not imply that the source states a formally adopted objective bearing this name.
Approval of policy and budget actions supporting the Gullah Geechee Historic Neighborhoods Community Development Corporation and related preservation initiatives.
Other Information
The source reports Council-approved budget and policy actions and identifies a dedicated Community Development Corporation fund supporting preservation, land, culture, and historic neighborhoods. December 31 is used as the EndDate because the summarized source entry identifies 2024 but not a specific action date.
Perry participated affirmatively in the Council-approved budget and policy actions reviewed.
Other Information
The source characterizes Perry's participation as YES on the adopted budget and policy actions but does not provide a discrete roll-call tally for each summarized action.
Document Council actions involving memoranda of understanding and related arrangements with Island Recreation.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
🏢Island Recreation
Recreation Partner (Performer)
Other Information
Island Recreation Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving Council-approved arrangements with Island Recreation.
Approval of a 2024 memorandum of understanding action involving Island Recreation.
Other Information
The source states that the Town Annual Report confirms the Council-approved Island Recreation MOU action. It does not provide an exact action date or vote tally in the summarized entry. December 31 is therefore used as the EndDate.
Document Council-supported sponsorship and related Town expenditures associated with Island Jam.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
👥Island Jam Organizers and Participants
Event Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Island Jam Decisions ~ This Objective is an inferred category used to organize source entries involving Island Jam sponsorship and related Town support. The source distinguishes between annual sponsorships embedded in broader budget or production actions and discrete standalone roll-call votes. That distinction is preserved below.
Island Jam sponsorship amount identified for 2023.
Other Information
The source reports a sponsorship amount of $193,550 and states that additional event-production costs were also incurred. It does not isolate a clean standalone roll-call vote by Perry for this sponsorship. December 31 is used because the summarized source entry identifies the year but not a specific action date.
No discrete standalone Perry roll-call vote on the 2023 Island Jam sponsorship was isolated in the reviewed record.
Other Information
The Town Annual Report confirms the sponsorship and production support, but the source expressly cautions against representing the reviewed material as proof of a discrete Perry roll-call vote on the sponsorship itself.
Island Jam sponsorship amount identified for 2024.
Other Information
The source reports a $250,000 sponsorship plus additional Town costs. The sponsorship was supported through the budget process rather than isolated as a clean standalone roll-call vote.
Island Jam sponsorship amount identified for 2025.
Other Information
The source reports a $250,000 sponsorship plus approximately $35,400 in additional Town costs. It does not isolate a clean standalone roll-call vote on the sponsorship.
Document the Council-approved property sale to Novant preserved from the prior Novant audit.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Decision Maker (Performer)
🏢Novant
Property Purchaser (Performer)
Other Information
Novant Property Transaction ~ This Objective organizes a property transaction preserved from the prior Novant audit. The source expressly states that no new Novant research was conducted in the current review run. Accordingly, the measurements below preserve the prior-audit findings and should not be interpreted as independently reverified in this review.
Approval of the sale of 355 William Hilton Parkway to Novant.
Other Information
This entry is preserved from the prior Novant audit. The source states that Council approved the sale and that no new Novant research was conducted in the current review.
Assess the availability and traceability of disclosure, recusal, participation, and voting information associated with the Council actions reviewed.
Stakeholders:
🏢Hilton Head Island Town Council
Public Decision-Making Body (Performer)
👥Hilton Head Island Residents and Property Owners
Public Accountability Stakeholders (Beneficiary)
Other Information
Disclosure and Recusal Documentation ~ This Objective is inferred from the cross-cutting evidentiary purpose of the source review rather than stated as an objective in the source. It summarizes the availability and limitations of disclosure, recusal, participation, and voting evidence without inferring whether a disclosure or recusal was legally required in any particular instance. Throughout this report, "Not identified" means that the reviewed record did not identify a disclosure or recusal; it does not establish that none existed or that none was required. Likewise, absence of an isolated roll-call vote does not establish absence of participation in a broader budget, policy, or other Council action.
Disclosure or recusal documentation was generally not identified in the reviewed records for the Council actions included in this report.
Other Information
This is a summary of the recurring evidentiary result documented in the individual action indicators. It is not a finding that no disclosures or recusals existed, that none occurred outside the reviewed records, or that disclosure or recusal was legally required in any particular matter.
Voting evidence ranged from exact roll-call tallies to Council approval records for which an exact tally was not surfaced or a discrete standalone vote was not isolated.
Other Information
Examples include actions with exact 7-0, 6-1, 6-0-1, 5-1, and 4-3 results, as well as summarized annual or budget actions for which the source does not provide a discrete roll-call tally. Island Jam entries are specifically qualified where a clean standalone Perry roll-call vote was not isolated.
Some reviewed evidence required explicit qualification because of source inconsistencies, unavailable exact tallies, summarized annual reporting, or reliance on previously reviewed material.
Other Information
The February 21, 2023 supplemental State ATAX action is a documented example: the official roll-call figures reported in the source total 5 YES, 1 NO, and 1 abstention, while summary prose reports 6-1-1. The Novant entries are separately identified as preserved from a prior audit and not independently re-researched in the current review. These limitations have been retained rather than silently reconciled.
The reviewed evidence supports action-level traceability to varying degrees of specificity.
Other Information
Traceability is strongest where the source provides an action date, subject, exact vote tally, Perry's position, quantitative financial or property scope, and disclosure or recusal status. It is weaker where the source relies on annual-report summaries, contemporaneous corroboration, prior-audit findings, or records in which a discrete vote was not isolated.